Masaza Cup: School boys Allan Oyirwoth, Kenneth Kimera star in Gomba win

Masaza Cup Quarter-final

Gomba Ssaza 3-1 Ssingo

Bulemezi 0-0 Buwekula

Masaza Cup record champions Gomba have put a foot into this year’s semi-finals following their 3-1 win against Ssingo.

Allan Oyirwoth was the evening’s star with a brace coming in the 36th and 84th minutes of the game. Whilst Kenneth Kimera scored a beauty one minute into the second stanza.

Ashiaf Neymar missed to tap home for Gomba from a close range after Kenneth Kimera well laid cross from the right wing  just seven minutes into the game.

Later after one minute, Dathan Mubiru missed the best opportunity of the first stanza when he slipped inside the area after putting down Gomba’s backline.

36″ Allan Oyirwoth converted from the penalty mark to send the host Gomba into a 1-0 lead after a fall play on Fahad Aniku.

At the beginning of the second stanza, Kenneth Kimera staged unusual magic leaving the whole Ssingo back line down to press into an empty net as Gomba extend the lead to 2-0.

Late into the game, Ssingo through a combination play between Elvis Ssekajugo and Emmanuel Shikanga was a long waited moment as Maido finished the business to make it to pull one back to change the score to 2-1.

Six minutes to the end of the game, Allan Oyirwoth capitalized from a defensive blander by Isaac Apenyo to press a powerful short past goalie James Tukey extend Gomba’s lead to 3-1.

In the other quarter-final of the day, 2012 and 2019 champions Bulemezi played for a goalless draw with Buwekula at Kosovo Grounds in Luweero, Kasana.


How teams lined up

Ssingo Ssaza XI

James Turkey, Emmanuel Shikanga, Muhammed Mutamba, Eria Bukenya, Isaac Apenyo, Nicholas Kirabira, Henry Kayemba, Peterson Mudulu, Dathan Mubiru, Erias Kiyemba, Joseph Ssewali


Solomon Otim, Enoch Katamba, Elvis Ssekajugo, Juuko Chripas, Daniel Bakaki, Patrick Odei, Brian Olega, Habibbu Mugume, Gerald Maido

Coach: Simon Ddunga

Gomba Ssaza XI

Tony Atigonza, Fahad Aniku, Shafik Ssali, Patrick Kagulire, Herbert Onenerach, Patrick Ssekyanzi, Aron Stuart Mutebi, Kenneth Kimera, Lawrence Kimbugwe, Ashiraf Kigozi, Allan Oryowoth


Joseph Lubega, Moses Mukisa, Akram Yiga, David Kanonya, Ashiraf Muwanda, Raymond Othieno, Samuel Lukoye,

Coach: Felix Ssekabuuza Kawooya.

About Author

Share this post