CAF/CECAFA U17 AFCON Qualifiers: South Sudan has Been Disqualified from Tournament

South Sudan U17 national team has been disqualified from the U17 AFCON/ CECAFA Zonal qualifier tournament in Rwanda.

Four of South Sudanese players failed to pass (MRI) test conducted by the tournament organizers and CAF medical team before the tournament.

Uganda was to kick off title defence against South Sudan today Saturday, the 12th  December 2020 at 12pm Rwanda time which is also 1pm Uganda time at Umuganda Stadium, Rubavu in Rwanda.


All the 20 players of Uganda U17 CAF/CECAFA zonal AFCON qualifiers passed the MRI tests conducted by the tournament organizers and CAF medical team on Friday, 11th December 2020.

Ugands was pitted in Group A alongside upcoming rivals South Sudan  Kenya and Ethiopia.


A total of six from seven teams  are to take part in the tournament after the disqualification of South Sudan.

Hosts Rwanda, Tanzania and Djibouti compose group B.


The finalists in this tournament will automatically qualify the 2021 AFCON finals in Morocco where two teams will qualify for the U17 FIFA World Cup set for 5th to 27th October in Peru.

About Author

Share this post