UPL: UPDF Maintain Perfect Start, Villa Fall As URA Register Maiden Season Win

The 2020/21 Uganda Premier league season is continuing to amuze by it’s way of being unique compared to previous few seasons.

It has been rare to find a club wining three consecutive opening fixtures of the league.
UPDF FC maintained it’s perfect start of the season when  they came from a goal down to beat resilient BUL FC 2-1 after the final score at Bombo Barracks Playground.
On form Dicken Okwri’s double that came in 79th and 83rd minutes cancelled Joseph Semujju’s well converted penalty in 42nd minute of first stanza for the gun men to consolidate a win.
KCCA FC and UPDF are the only sides in the league to win three consecutive wins this season.
In the other games, Uganda Police football club beat struggling newcomers, Kitara FC by 5-1 on road. Ben Ocen bagged an hat-trick, Mahmod Hassan and Yusuf Sozzi also appeared on the day’s score sheet.
Said Kyeyune’s late strike helped Sam Simbwa’s URA FC to register their maiden win of the season after beating Sports Club Villa by 2-1, Derrick Ndahiro’s penalty wasn’t enough for the Jogoos to escape hungry tax collectors.
In their first League game, defending champions Vipers SC only managed to pick a point from Kabaka Kyabaggu Stadium in Wakiso against Wakiso Giants. On his return, Shaban Muhammad’s goal was cancelled by Viane Ssekajugo who also returned from injury, for the venoms and Wakiso Giants to share spoils.
Soltilo Bright Stars failed to survive from the nest of the Red Eagles at Muteesa II Stadium at Wankulukuku.
Frank Kalanda and Eric Kambale scored for Bright Stars while Augustine Kacancu scored the only goal for Bright Stars.
Matchday three full results:

1. Wakiso Giants FC 1-1 Vipers SC |  Viane Ssekajugo 65′, Muhammad Shaban 8′


2. Kitara FC 0-5 Police FC  Ben Ocen 39′ (Pen), 43′, 71′, Mahmod Hassan 63′, Sozi Yousuf 74′


3. Express FC 2-1 Soltilo Bright Stars FC. Frank Kalanda 40′, Eric Kambale 7′, Augustine Gaddafi Kacancu 19′


4. URA FC 2-1 SC Villa. Nyakoojo Benjamin 32′, Saidi Kyeyune 90+2′  Ndahiro Derrick (Pen) 17′


5. UPDF FC 2-1 BUL FC. Dicken Okwri 79, 83,  Joseph Ssemujju (Pen) 42

6. Busoga United 1-1Kyetume FC
7. Kampala City 2-0 Mbarara City
8. Myda FC 2-3 Onduparaka FC.

About Author

Share this post