U20 WCQ: Khalifa names travelling squad to South Africa

The Uganda U20 Women’s National Team Head Coach, Ayub Khalifa Kiyingi has named the final squad of 20 players that will travel to Johannesburg, South Africa ahead of the 2022 FIFA U20 Women’s World Cup Qualifiers.

Uganda will face South Africa in the return leg of the third round of FIFA U20 Women’s World Cup Qualifiers with the game slated for Friday, 17th December at Dobsonsville Stadium.

Uganda won the first leg 1-0 at St. Mary’s Stadium, Kitende on 3rd December courtesy of Hadijah Nandago’s goal.

The squad named comprises of three goalkeepers, seven defenders, five midfielders and five forwards.

Striker Juliet Nalukenge who plies her trade at Chrysomolia FC on loan from Apollon Ladies FC and scored a hat trick over the weekend is part of the squad having arrived in the country on Monday.

Khalifa indicates the squad named has the ability to register a good result and progress to the next round.

“I think these are the best players we have selected to go and do the job. I have the belief that the squad selected is competent to help us secure the result we want,” Khalifa said.

“We carry a 1-0 advantage into the second leg but that doesn’t mean we shall go and sit back. We want to go and win in South Africa,” he added.

The winner on aggregate between Uganda and South Africa will progress to the fourth round where they will face either Ghana or Zambia.

Final Squad

Daphine Nyayenga (Lady Doves FC), Joan Namusisi (Kampala Queens FC), Saidah Namwanje (Luweero Giant Queens)

Sumayah Komuntale (Tooro Queens FC), Grace Aluka (Olila High School FC), Biira Nadunga (Olila High School FC), Samalie Nakacwa (Kawempe Muslim FC), Harima Kanyago (Lady Doves FC), Aisha Nantongo (Kawempe Muslim Ladies), Asia Nakibuuka (Kawempe Muslim Ladies FC)

Shakirah Nyinagahirwa (Kawempe Muslim Ladies FC), Zaina Nandede (Kataka SHE FC), Catherine Nagadya (Uganda Martyrs High School), Margaret Kunihira (Kawempe Muslim Ladies FC), Kevin Nakacwa (Uganda Martyrs High School FC)

Fauzia Najjemba (Kampala Queens), Hadijah Nandago (Kawempe Muslim Ladies FC), Juliet Nalukenge(Chrysomolia FC), Lillian Mutuuzo(Kampala Queens FC), Eva Naggayi (Rines SS WFC)

About Author

Share this post