FUFA Registers two Under age Teams for AFCON Qualifiers

FUFA has confirmed registration of two under age National teams (U17 and U20) for the AFCON Zonal Qualifiers (CECAFA).

Twenty (20) CECAFA footballing Nations who will be grouped in two pools have confirmed to take part.

Countries including Burundi, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda, South Sudan, Sudan, Eritrea, Djibouti, Ethiopia and Kenya have confirmed to be part of the regional qualifiers for U17.

The U20 championship has also attracted ten Nations including Somalia, Burundi, Tanzania, Uganda, South Sudan, Sudan Eritrea, Djibouti, Ethiopia and Kenya.

Tanzania will host the U-20 tourney starting on the 22nd November to 6th December 2020, whilst the U-17 tournament will be held in Rwanda on the 13th -28th December 2020.

This follows a resolution by the CECAFA executive committee meeting held in Arusha, Tanzania on Saturday 10th October 2020 as the press release partly reads.
During the CECAFA executive committee meeting held in Arusha on Saturday 10th October 2020, the decision to go ahead with the U17 and the U20 AFCON qualifiers was reached. To this effect the CECAFA secretariat has already received participation confirmation for the U17 and U20 from member FAs.

Both these qualifier tournaments will feature 10 teams which will be into two pools. After the pool stages, the top two teams will proceed into the semifinals. The secretariat will announce dates for the draws to the tournament which will be done virtually”.

Morocco will host the U17 and (U20) Mauritius AFCON finals in July 2021.

About Author

Share this post