Cricket: Aziz Damani Win 4th National Women’s T20 League, Wanderers nick Soroti Challengers to finish second

Match Summaries:

In Lugogo

Game 1:

Aziz Damani v Olila Cricket Club

Olila Cricket Club 74/5

Aziz Damani 71/8

Olila won by 3 runs.

Game 2:

Aziz Damani 93/6

Olila Cricket Club 82/5

Aziz Damani won by 11 runs


In Kyambogo

Wanderers v Soroti Challengers

Game 1:

Soroti Challengers 105/7

Wanderers 105/6

Soroti Challengers won super over

Game 2.

Soroti Challengers 98/5

Wanderers 99/6

Wanderers won by 4 wickets.

The only thing Aziz Damani failed to do this season was finish unbeaten , they lost by 3 runs to Olila Cricket Club this morning but the champions came back hard in the afternoon to win by 11 runs.

Aziz Damani managed to win at least 9 out 10 games as they clinched their 4th title in a row. The title came with a cash prize of 1M shillings.

In Kyambogo Soroti Challengers and Wanderers battled for second place with both teams stuck on 10 points apiece.

Soroti Challengers managed to win the morning via two super overs as the sides couldn’t be separated in the 1st game. That win moved Soroti Challengers into second place momentarily.


In the afternoon Wanderers was more composed as they closed out a 4 wicket win and reclaim second place a better net run rate advantage.

This became highest finish for Wanderers since their promotion back to the top flight and they also earned themselves 500,000 for their efforts.


Today was a curtain closing on the 2022 national women’s T20 League.

Next is the National team schedule as the Victoria Pearls will be traveling to Namibia on 18th to take Namibia and Zimbabwe and the league was being used to give the ladies some good game time.


Individual Awards Winners

1. Best Bowler – Janet Mbabazi ( Soroti Challengers)

2. Best Batter – Gloria Obukor ( Aziz Damani)

3. Best Fielder – Christine Anayo (Soroti Challengers)

4. Best Wicketkeeper – Maria Nyende Kagoya (Aziz Damani)

5. MVP – Janet Mbabazi (Aziz Damani).

About Author

Share this post