Bika Football Update: Four Clans Have Registered For 2020 Edition

After a resolution by the Bika Football Committee to register this year’s competitors using online platforms due to the COVID-19 pandemic Lockdown, the response from team managers has proved to be positive as four clans have so far confirmed participation by registration.

The three time Champions Ffumbe (1960, 2005 & 2009), 1993 and 1960 Champions Nkima, Nkejje and Nsenene are the four teams that have confirmed participation.

The development has come shortly after the Bika Football Committee Chairman Hajji Suleiman Magala announced four stadiums including Muteesa II Stadium-Wankulukuku, Kabaka Kyabaggu Stadium in Wakiso, IUIU-Kabojja and Lubiri Play Ground to be used this year.

The Buganda Minister for Youth, Sports and Recreation Henry Ssekabembe Kiberu earlier this month informed the Kingdom subjects and team managers that the opening dates and venue for this year’s edition will be announced shortly after the lockdown lift by the Katikiro Charles Peter Mayiga.

Last year’s edition opener was held St. Nazareth Kavulu play Ground in Mawokota on Saturday, the 11th May as Musu shout out a star paraded Mutima Muyanja by 10-9 after a one all normal time draw.
Badru Nsimbe Jibril (Musu) second half equalizer cancelled Ivan Mayanja’s early first stanza strike to send the game to spot kicks.

Mbogo is the defending Champion after a 1-0 victory over Kkobe in the final played at Masaka Recreation Ground in Buddu on Saturday, the 31st August 2019.
The then Bright Stars on form striker Nelson Ssenkatuka scored the only goal in the game as Mbogo humbled the 10 man Kkobe.
Past Bika Tournament winners
1950: Mbogo
1951: Ngabi Nsamba
1952: Mmamba Gabunga
1953: Not Held
1954: Not Held
1955: Kkobe

About Author

Share this post