Uganda Revenue Authority Football Club beat Vipers SC 2-1 in a clash of the top of the table played on Saturday 13th March at Arena of Visions in Ndejje.

Shafic Kagimu and Stephen Mukwala scored for URA whilst substitute Ceaser Manzoki pulled one back for Vipers SC.

It was a highly contested first half as two sides played to find a way out into the lead.

However, URA FC’s midfield and the flanks surpassed Vipers SC to take charge of the game.

Davis Ssali, Shafic Kagimu, Ivan Sserubiri and Patrick Mbowa were too good for the venoms on a hot afternoon.

The first stanza ended 1-0 in favor of the host URA FC.

Shafic Kagimu sent URA FC into the lead from a Fabian Mutombora rebounded ball resulting from athletic winger Davis Ssali in the 40th minute of the game.

Just seven minutes into the second, Vipers SC tactician Fred Kajoba made double substitution as Allan Kayiwa and David Bagole paved way into for Paul Mucureezi and Ceaser Manzoki respectively.

Stephen Mukwala then scored a sole effort capitalized from a Joseph Dhata blind pass to beat last man Livingstone Mulondo and finally shoot in the top right roof.

In 62 minutes, URA FC’s Sam Simbwa replaced Davis Ssali and Ivan Sserubiri with Moses Sseruyidde and Michael Birungi respectively.

Shortly after eight minutes, Vipers SC made more two changes when Bobosi Byaruhanga and defender Joseph Dhata were replaced by Richard Basangwa and Abdul Karim Watambala.

The substitutes brought change as Vipers SC continued to press for a goal that came through Ceaser Manzoki’s header from Disan Galiwango’s free kick ball.

In the 89th minute, Jamil Kalisa came on for Ceaser Manzoki who also came on as a substitute to replace David Bagole in the 52nd minute.

A win means that URA FC is now on top with 33 points while Vipers remains second with 30 points from 14 games played so far.

Line ups:


Vipers SC
Fabian Mutombora, Joseph Dhata, Bashir Asiku, Livingstone Mulondo, Disan Galiwango, Siraje Ssentamu, Bobosi Byaruhanga, David Bagole, Ibrahim Orit, Yunus Ssentamu, Allan Kayiwa
Bashir Ssekagya, Abdul Karim Watambala, Jamil Kalisa, Paul Mucureezi, Richard Basangwa, Ceaser Manzoki, Musa Ssali

About Author

Share this post