Masaza Cup 2023: Mawokota beat holders Busiro in the opener.

Saturday June 24th

Busiro Ssazza  1:3 Mawokota Ssaza

Goals from John Innocent Kisolo, Abubaker Mayanja and Calvin Emayo inspired Mawokota  to come from a goal down and win holders Busiro 3-1 in the 2023 Masaza Cup opener at Muteesa II Stadium, Wankulukuku.

Through a spot kick converted by Akram Muzanyi, Busiro earned an early 1-0 lead in the 14th minute, after he was brought down in the area.

However, the Richard Malinga coached Mawokota, remained calm and composed looking lively going forward, maintained their free flowing football and created a couple of chances in a quest for a come back.

In the 37th minute through Mayanja, their efforts paid off who headed home from Micheal Abula cross to level matters.

Shortly after only three minutes, the three (3) time champions Mawokota extended the lead to 2-1 through Kisolo’s powerful strike past Busiro goalkeeper Sulaiman Ssali.

Busiro later had a chance to level matters before half time, But Muzanyi sent his penalty wide after Herbert Kibirango had been fouled in the area.

Mawokota sealed it off in the 80th as Emayo put the icing on the cake with the  third in what  was the last nail into Busiro’s coffin to ensure a 3-1 victory in the opener.

The win, first for Mawokota puts them at the top of Muganzirwaza group.

It was also a strong start for Richard Malinga, who is in charge of the team for a fourth consecutive season.

His Majesty the Kabaka, Ronald Muwenda Mutebi Kimera II graced the opening game which pulled huge crowds from his subjects.

How teams lined up


Sulaiman Ssali (GK), Ibrahim Ssenkusu, Vicent Agaku, Godfrey Alijole, Sulaiman Mutyaba, Ismael Kalyanswa, Daniel Ziraba, Herbert Kibirango, Abdurazak Ssembusi, Akram Muzanyi, Bruno Mukwaya


Henry Mwebe, Musa Huzaifah, Robert Atuhairwe, Ibrahim Kasenge, Andrew Eporu, Peter Kaye, Musa ssegujja

Head Coach : Ibrahim Kirya



Abraham Opio (GK), Joseph Kayondo, Peter Abalilya, John Innocent Kisolo, Brian Zahara, Micheal Abula, Akbr Ssentongo, Abubaker Mayanja, Alex Mutebi, Calvin Peter Emayo, Joseph Ogwang.


William Odongkara , Emmanuel Peter Oluga, Dennis Konde, Maduri Ngong

Head Coach: Richard Malinga

About Author

Share this post

You cannot copy content of this page