Kasozi, Ankah crowned new pool King, Queen at Jinja

Joseph Kasozi defied the odds and emerged victorious in a thrilling Pool King Championship final, defeating powerhouse Caesar Chandiga 7-6 on Sunday.

However, it was a hard dugout for Kasozi who staged comeback for the crown.

Kasozi displayed remarkable resilience throughout the championship, solidifying his reputation as a “comeback king.” Trailing 4-2 in the final against Chandiga.

Kasozi called for a timeout and used it to his advantage to storm back, taking a commanding 6-4 lead.

Though Chandiga clawed his way back with two wins, Kasozi held his nerve and secured the final point to claim the coveted Pool King title.

Elated with the win, Kasozi acknowledged the high level of competition and expressed his confidence throughout the match. His triumph was rewarded with a cash prize of Shs. 3,000,000.

Meanwhile, Marion Kisakye aka Ankah Sheilah, clinched the Pool Queen title in a 9-8 nail-biting penalty shootout against national champion Rukia Nayiga.

The Pool Queen final was an equally captivating display of skill. Kisakye and Nayiga battled fiercely, deadlocked at 5-5 when the allotted time expired.

This sent the match into a nerve-wracking penalty shootout. Both players displayed exceptional talent but Kisakye capitalized on a miss by Nayiga to secure a narrow 9-8 victory.

The Jinja crowd erupted in celebration, their cheers echoing through the venue as Kisakye was crowned the new Pool Queen.

However, the championship finals were unfortunately delayed due to a players’ protest against poor Pool Tables. Despite this setback, the award ceremony eventually took place at 9 pm.

The Pool Association of Uganda (PAU) will now set sight on the upcoming Nile Special National Open Pool Championships and the National League.


Previous Champions

Pool King

2021 – Mansoor Bwanika

2023 – Ibra Sejjemba

2024 – Joseph Kasozi

Pool Queen

2024 – Marion Kisakye

2023 – No event

2022 – Rashida Mutesi

2021 – Rasheda Mutesi

2017 – Victoria Namuyanja

2016 – Victoria Namuyanja

2015 – Angela Busingye

2014 – Victoria Namuyanja

2013 – Carol Kanzira

2012 – Jacinta Kajubi

2011 – Jacinta Kajubi

2010 – Brenda Tendo

2009 – Winnie Tushabe

About Author

Share this post