2023 Rwabushenyi Memorial Open Chess Championship attracts over 240 participants 


Rwabushenyi Memorial Open Chess Championship 2023 edition started at Nob View Hotel in Ntinda.

The four day championship which started on Thursday 7th, will run to Sunday 10th December 2023 at Nob View Hotel in Ntinda, Kampala.

Over 240 participants from four countries including Uganda, Kenya, South Sudan, Somalia are taking part in this year’s edition.


The tournament is in memory of late legendary Cyril Rwabushenyi who served as Director of airports and Aviation security during his working days with Civil Aviation Authority {CAA}.

The game’s legend died in Nairobi in July 2005 and was buried at his ancestral grounds in Rugando village, Rwampara County.

He was the first Uganda Chess Federation president. Rwabushenyi serve the federation for two years from 1996 – 1998.

He was too keen on grassroots development and during his reign, many youngster were identified through the FR games schools championship.

The crop of players who rose through his schools championship include Steven Kawuma, Grace Nsubuga, Steven Opio and Shaddrack Kntinti.


Harold Wanyama won the last edition. Madol Garang Panthoum (South Sudan) was second.

Wanyama won 8 out of 8 to beat Panthoum who only lost to him as the eventual champion.

However, Wanyama is not taking part in this year’s edition.

In women, Women Candidate Master Shakira is the defending. She’s in the race to defend her title this year.


Last year, she won 6 out of 8 as Joyce Kabengano was second with 5 and half points .

The winners in both men and women categories will smile home with 1,500,000 Uganda Shillings.


Selected Past winners

2020 – Event not held due to Covid.

2019 –  IM Arthur Ssegwanyi

2018 –  FM Patrick Kawuma

2017 – FM Patrick Kawuma (Open section) & WFM Goretti Angolikin (Ladies section).

2016 – event was not held.

2015 – IM Arthur Ssegwanyi

2014 – FM Harold Wanyama

2011 – FM Harold Wanyama.

2010 – IM Elijah Emojong & Phiona Mutesi winner of Ladies section.

2008 – FM Harold Wanyama.

About Author

Share this post